Programs and Funding Opportunities at the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) at Howard University

Details

to
Virtual

Additional Information

Agenda

July 12, 2021

Time Description
10 am Introductory Comments and Welcome by Howard Provost, Anthony K Wutoh
Introductory Remarks by Nora Volkow, M.D., NIDA Director
10:10 am Overview of NIDA’s Organizational structure and introduction of NIDA staff.
Jonathan D. Pollock, Ph.D. Chief, Genetics, Epigenetics, and Developmental Neuroscience Branch, jpollock@mail.nih.gov
10:25 am Overview of Science Supported by The Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB).
Rita Valentino, Ph.D. Director DNB rita.valentino@nih.gov
10:40 am Overview of Science Supported by the Division of Treatment and Medical Consequences (DTMC).
Katrina Foster, Ph.D., Health Science Administrator katrina.foster@nih.gov
10:55 am Overview of Science Supported by The Division of Epidemiology and Service Prevention Research (DESPR). Aria Crump, Sc.D. Program Director, aria@nih.gov
11:10 am Adolescent Brain and Cognitive Development Program (ABCD)
Gaya Dowling, Ph.D., Director ABCD dowlingg@nida.nih.gov
11:25 am Research Training and Career Development Opportunities at NIDA.
Beth Babecki, M.S. Training Coordinator bbabecki@nida.nih.gov
11:40 am Discussion and Questions
11:55 am Breakout for Howard Faculty and Student wishing further discussion with NIDA Staff
12:30 p m Adjourn

July 13, 2021

Time Description
10 am An overview of the NIDA-IRP with a focus on Medication Discovery.
Amy Newman, Ph.D.Scientific Director, NIDA-IRP (IRP stands for Intramural Research Program and is located in Baltimore) ANEWMAN@intra.nida.nih.gov
10:15 am From Neuroscience to Clinical Addiction Medicine: Recent Translational Efforts in the NIDA Intramural Research Program.
Lorenzo Leggio, M.D., Ph.D. Deputy Scientific Director, NIDA-IRP lorenzo.leggio@nih.gov
10:30 am Hypothalamic cell types and circuits that drive survival behaviors.
Yeka Aponte, Ph.D. Chief, Neuronal Circuits and Behavior Unit, NIDA-IRP yeka.aponte@nih.gov
10:45 am Diversity and Inclusion and effort at the NIDA Intramural Research Program.
Yeka Aponte, Ph.D., Chief, Neuronal Circuits and Behavior Unit, NIDA-IRP yeka.aponte@nih.gov
11:00 am Diversity Funding and Training Opportunities.
Angela Holmes, Ph.D. Diversity and Disparities Program Officer, angela.holmes2@nih.gov
11:15 am NIDA’s Racial Equity Initiative
Will Aklin, Ph.D. (Health Scientist Administrator/Director Behavioral Treatment Program, aklinwm@mail.nih.gov
Emily Einstein, Ph.D., Branch Chief, Science Policy Branch einsteineb@nida.nih.gov
12 noon Questions and Discussion
1:00 pm Adjourn

Past Meetings/Events