National Advisory Council Agenda

145th Meeting of the National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse

Hybrid Meeting – September 12, 2023

Closed Session

This meeting is closed to the public in accordance with the provisions set forth in section 552b{c}(4) and 552b{c}(6), Title 5, U.S. Code and section 10(d) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5 U.S.C. Appendix 2). 

Time Presentation
10:30 a.m. Call to Order
Nora Volkow, M.D.
Director, NIDA

Review of Policy and Procedures
Susan Weiss, Ph.D.
Executive Secretary
National Advisory Council on Drug Abuse
Director, Division of Extramural Research, NIDA
10:45 a.m.

Council Review of Grant Applications
Nora Volkow, M.D., Director, NIDA

Division of Therapeutics and Medical Consequences (DTMC)
Iván Montoya, M.D., M.P.H., Acting Director

Division of Neuroscience and Behavior (DNB)
Rita Valentino, Ph.D., Director

Office of Research Training, Diversity, and Disparities (ORTDD)
Aria Crump, Sc.D., Deputy Director, ORTDD

Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research (DESPR)
Carlos Blanco, M.D., Ph.D., Director

Office of Translational Initiatives and Program Innovationa (OTIPI)
Elena Koustova, Ph.D., M.B.A., Director

11:45 p.m. Break


Members of the public who may wish to express views regarding any items discussed during this meeting may do so by writing Gillian Acca, within ten days of the meeting.  Any written statements by members of the public will receive careful consideration.

Join the Videocast

Open Session

Hybrid meeting: 6001 Executive Blvd, North Bethesda, MD.

Time Presentation
1:00 p.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks
Nora Volkow, M.D., Director, NIDA
1:15 p.m. Director's Report
Nora Volkow, M.D., Director, NIDA
2:05 p.m. Discussion
Council Members
2:30 p.m. Substance Use in the Context of HIV and National HIV Efforts
Harold Phillips, MRP, Director
White House
Office of National AIDS Policy
3:15 p.m. Updates from NIDA’s HIV Research Program
Redonna K. Chandler, Ph.D.
Director, HIV Research Program
3:45 p.m. Xylazine and Opioids – Clinical Experiences and Research Questions
Kristen Huntley, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Center for the Clinical Trials Network
4:15 p.m. Concept Clearances
  • Division of Epidemiology, Services, and Prevention Research (DESPR)
    • National Drug Early Warning System (NDEWS) – MeLisa Creamer, Ph.D., Deputy Branch Chief, Epidemiology Research Branch
    • Pilot Health Services and Economic Research on the Treatment of Drug, Alcohol, and Tobacco Use Disorders – Keisher Highsmith, Dr.PH, Health Scientist Administrator
    • Pilot and Feasibility Studies in Preparation for Substance Use Prevention Trials – Amy Goldstein, Ph.D., Branch Chief, Prevention Research Branch
  • Office of Translational Initiatives and Program Innovations (OTIPI)
    • Seeking Products to Address Social Needs impacting Substance Use Disorders (SUD) – Morris Flood, DHSc, Health Scientist Administrator
4:45 p.m. Public Comments
5:00 p.m. Adjourn